NetEA FAQ

1.1.3 Unit Datasheets

What is the difference between and/or designations on weapons?
A weapon designated as or may choose between the modes of fire on the datasheet each time it is used. A weapon designated as and may use all modes of fire simultaneously each time it is used.
Some units can be armed with one weapon or another, when are these chosen?
When both players pick armies (Forces).

1.4.2 Abilities Used at Start of Turn/Action

Can the player with the higher strategy rating choose to make their opponent go first?
Yes.
What happens when both armies have formations with the same ability used at the start of the turn and the same strategy rating?
Dice to see who chooses to go first.
Should you dice for each ability (e.g. teleport, tunneler, etc.) used at the start of the turn?
Bring it up in the five minute warm-up.

1.5 The Strategy Phase

What is the order of events that happen in the Strategy Phase?
If alternating, the player with the higher strategy rating chooses who will go first.
  1. Units with tunneler surface (alternate)
  2. Units with teleport are placed, other start of turn abilities go into effect (alternate)
  3. Make a strategy roll (simultaneous)

1.6.2 The Action Test

When rolling an action test does a result of 1 automatically fail?
No.

1.7 Movement

Can units move off the gaming table?
Only if specifically allowed to do so by a special rule.
Can I choose to move a unit 0cm? If so, is it still susceptible to overwatch?
Yes and yes. Any action that includes one of more moves (advance, engage, double, march and possibly marshal, hold and special actions) is considered a move for the purposes of overwatch, even if units moved 0cm.
Note that withdrawals are optional however, and that a player can choose not to move a broken formation at all, thus avoiding overwatch.

1.7.3 Zones of Control

If a unit finds itself in an enemy zone of control is it obligated to leave it via the shortest possible path?
No, the unit just needs to leave the zone of control before the end of the action.
Can a unit be exactly 5cm away from an enemy unit?
No, the unit must be more than 5cm away from enemy unit, otherwise it would be in the enemy’s zone of control.
If a formation is within an enemy formation’s zone of control can it engage another enemy formation?
Yes, so long as it completely leaves the first enemy formation’s zone of control with the charge move.

1.7.5 Transport Vehicles

Does a transported unit lose its zone of control?
Yes.
Are transported units considered to be in specific transporting units of their formation?
You can play it either way, just bring it up in the five minute warm up.
Can a transport unit pick up a unit that is in terrain that is dangerous to the transport unit?
Yes, but if the unit being picked up was completely within the dangerous terrain then the transport would have to take a dangerous terrain test.
Can a transport unit pick up a unit that is in terrain that is impassable to the transport unit?
Yes, but only if the unit being picked up is not completely within the impassable terrain.
When disembarking, are transported units placed completely within 5cm of the transport unit or just so one part of the transported unit is within 5cm of the transport unit.
You can play it either way, just bring it up in the five minute warm up.
How do transported units that are immobile or which have a speed of 0cm disembark?
As normal.
Where are transported units placed when the unit transporting them is destroyed?
Where the unit transporting them was.
What happens to transported units when the unit transporting them is destroyed by: dangerous terrain, the result of an assault, or an additional hit from a Blast marker on a broken formation?
They make their normal armour save or a 6+ cover save, the formation they are part of would not receive a Blast marker for any of these saves if they failed.
What happens to transported units when the unit transporting them is destroyed by ending its second withdrawal move within 15cm of the enemy?
If they’re broken and not fearless they will be destroyed. Otherwise they make their normal armour save or a 6+ cover save.
If a transport is destroyed by a hit with a special ability does that carry over to the transported units?
Yes, the transported units save is affected by the type of hit the transport is destroyed by. For example, an ignore cover hit would prevent the transported units from making a 6+ cover save.

1.8.1 Dangerous Terrain Test

How many D6 does a war engine roll when it enters dangerous terrain?
One. Are units that are making counter charge moves subject to Dangerous Terrain tests?
Yes.

1.8.2 Cover to Hit Modifiers

When does a unit count as being in cover?
This should be brought up in the five minute warm up.

1.8.4 Terrain Effects

How many units can claim cover from a fortification?
If this isn’t covered by special rules or the scenario then it should be brought up in the five minute warm up.
Can a speed 0cm unit on a road claim the +5cm move bonus?
There is no clear distinction in the rules between speed 0cm and immobile units. We recommend you go over it with your opponent during the 5 minute warm-up.
A speed 0cm unit could possibly benefit from the road movement bonus, allowing it to move 5cm per move. However, it may obviously not leave the road as it would then lose its bonus movement. A unit with a speed of immobile may not move, even on a road.
Can units making a counter charge move on a road claim the +5cm move bonus?
No, the moves referenced here are those in actions. A counter charge move is not one of those moves.
How many infantry can be counted as being in cover when touching an armoured vehicle or war engine?
There is no limit as per the written rules, so long as the infantry bases can touch the AV or WE. However, a limit of 2 per AV (2 per starting DC of a WE) is an extremely common house rule. Enough so that it should be brought up in the five minute warm up.
Can an infantry unit claim cover from enemy armoured vehicles?
Yes.

1.9 Shooting

Can you withhold fire for later in the turn?
No. A unit either fires when its formation activates with an action that allows it to shoot or forfeits its right to shoot.

1.9.2 Who May Shoot

Can a unit being transported be suppressed?
Only if the transported units are allowed to shoot as per the transport unit’s datasheet. Otherwise, they don’t have a line of fire.
Can a unit without a ranged weapon be suppressed?
Units with a firefight (small arms weapons) may be suppressed if they are within 15cm and have a line of fire. Units without a firefight and ranged weapons may not be suppressed.
Can a unit be suppressed if it has no enemy in the fire arc of its weapons?
No.
When are units that are armed with a weapon that does not require a line of fire suppressed?
Only when they are within range of a unit from the target formation.

1.9.4 Place Blast Marker

Can a formation of units armed only with AP fire at an enemy formation of armoured vehicles to place a Blast marker on them?
Yes, and the same holds for the situation in reverse (AT fire on infantry).
Can a formation of units armed only with Small Arms fire at an enemy formation to place a Blast marker on them?
No.
Can units that are out of range of an enemy formation fire at them to place a Blast marker?
No.

1.9.5 Roll To Hit

Can a unit armed with two or more of the same kind of weapon choose to fire some with their AP value and others with their AT value?
Yes.
Can a unit armed with a weapon with multiple shots choose to fire some shots with the AP value and others with the AT value?
No. The decision to fire with the AP or AT value is by weapon and for all of its shots.
If a target formation has infantry in cover and armoured vehicles not in cover will my AT to hit rolls suffer the -1 modifier?
No, and the same holds for the situation in reverse (AV in cover, INF out of cover).
Can I choose to fire some shots at units in cover (taking the -1 to hit modifier) and the rest at units out of cover?
You may not split each type of fire like this. All AP fire from a shooting formation must take the -1 modifier, or not, at the choice of the player. The same holds for AT and MW fire. However, the player could choose to take the -1 for one type of fire and not to for another.

1.9.6 Allocate Hits & Make Saving Throws

Are modifiers to an amour save cumulative? For example, does a sniper hit on a unit caught in a crossfire suffer a -2 save modifier?
Yes, all modifiers apply unless specifically stated otherwise.
If a unit suffers save modifiers so that its armour value is effectively 7+ does it still get a save?
No, 7+ rolls are for hits only.
How are hits allocated on a formation when it contains light vehicles as well as infantry or armoured vehicles?
The hits must be allocated so that none are wasted and each unit has one hit allocated to it before being allocated a second, or third, etc. if possible.
In other words, if light vehicles are with infantry then allocate AT hits to the light vehicles before AP hits. If light vehicles are with armoured vehicles then allocate AP hits to the light vehicle before AT hits. If all three types are in the same formation talk it out with your opponent.

1.9.8 Barrages

Can a barrage claim a crossfire bonus?
Yes.
If a unit is under multiple templates from the same barrage how many to hit rolls are rolled for it?
One.
Do extra Barrage templates have to be placed to get as many enemy units from the target formation under them as possible?
The rules are unclear here, but yes they do.
Is it possible to place extra Barrage templates so that they cover units that no weapon contributing to the barrage has range or a line of fire to?
Yes, but only the extra templates.
How do you resolve hits for a Barrage template that’s over some units in cover and some that aren’t?
Roll to hit separately for those units in cover, and for those units not in cover.
How do you resolve hits for a Barrage template that’s over different kinds of units?
Each unit under a template requires a separate to hit roll to see if it has been hit. For example, a barrage covering two Nobz (one with the Warlord), six Boyz (with two in cover), two Grotz, four Battlewagons and one Flakwagon would need to roll the following to hit rolls: one for the Nobz with the Warlord, one for the other Nobz, four for the Boyz out of cover, two for the Boyz in cover, two for the Grotz, four for the Battlewagons and one for the Flakwagon.
The type referred to in the sentence about speed dice rolling refers to the kind of unit (Tactical, Assault, Devastator, etc.) not the unit type (INF, AV, etc.).
How are barrages where some barrage points have special abilities resolved?
When firing in a barrage, a special weapon ability can only be used if all of the units firing have it. If a special ability is used in a barrage then those barrage weapons that don’t have the special ability may not fire in the barrage, nor may they fire a separate barrage during their activation.

1.10 Overwatch

Can a formation on overwatch use its overwatch fire when it is not a legal formation?
Yes, the requirement to be a legal formation is only when the formation is taking an overwatch action. However, it could not choose to remain on overwatch as it would have to move back into a legal formation.
Can a formation on overwatch use its overwatch fire when it is in the zone of control of an enemy formation.
Yes, as it is not taking an action when shooting while on overwatch. However, it could not choose to remain on overwatch as it would have to charge the enemy or leave its zone of control.
A formation carries out an action that involves a move but none of the units physically move, is it still susceptible to overwatch?
Yes. Any action that includes one of more moves (advance, engage, double, march and possibly marshal, hold and special actions) is considered a move for the purposes of overwatch, even if units moved 0cm.
Note that withdrawals and consolidation moves are optional however, and that a player can choose not to move the formation at all, thus avoiding overwatch.
Do units that enter play via a special rule (landing, planetfall, self planetfall, teleporting, tunneling, being summoned or swarmed) trigger overwatch fire?
No, only completing a move or disembarking triggers overwatch.
Does a counter charge move trigger overwatch fire?
No.
What happens to formation that is broken from overwatch fire while it is carrying out an action?
See Withdrawals, it makes a withdrawal and loses the rest of its action.

1.11 Crossfire

Does the friendly unit need to shoot at the same target formation in order to be used to catch it in a crossfire?
No.
Does the friendly unit need to have a weapon that can affect the target formation in order to be used to catch it in a crossfire?
No, it doesn’t need weapons at all or even a Firefight value.
Does the shooting formation need to have a line of fire to the friendly unit?
No, both the shooting formation and the friendly unit only need a line of fire to the target formation.
Does the -1 save modifier apply to cover saves?
Yes.

1.12 Assaults

Do assaults occur when neither player takes an engage action?
No, they never automatically occur.

1.12.3 Make Charge Move

Can a unit that’s making a charge move put an enemy unit in base contact if the enemy is in terrain that is dangerous to the charging unit?
Yes, if part of the enemy unit is not in dangerous terrain the unit can be put in base contact there without taking a dangerous terrain test. If the enemy unit is completely within the dangerous terrain then the charging unit would have to take a dangerous terrain test.
Can a unit that’s making a charge move put an enemy unit in base contact if the enemy is in terrain that is impassable to the charging unit?
Yes, if part of the enemy unit is not in impassable terrain the unit can be put in base contact there. If the enemy unit is completely within the impassable terrain then no.
What happens to a charging unit that enters the zone of control of an enemy unit and it does not have enough movement to make it into base contact?
The charging unit would move as much as possible towards the closest enemy unit. The intent of the rule is that you should not be able to charge through a zone of control to reach a unit further away but should always move towards the closest enemy unit even if you cannot make it into base contact.
Can a unit making a charge move claim the cover to hit modifier and receive a cover save against overwatch fire?
Yes and yes.
After it makes a charge move does the engaging formation need to have at least one unit with a line of fire to a unit in the target formation in order for the assault to take place?
Yes. While it is not specifically stated in the rules it is implied (close enough that individual infantry are able to engage in the fight and make use of their small arms) and required to resolve firefight attacks.

1.12.4 Counter Charges

When a unit uses its counter-charge is it towards the closest enemy unit in the attacking formation or just the closest enemy unit?
The closest enemy unit. This could be a unit from another formation.
If the closest enemy unit is in contact with two defending units can a unit counter-charge the next closest instead?
Yes.
What happens when the closest enemy unit cannot be reach due to impassable terrain or friendly units?
The counter-charge would follow the shortest path to get to the closest enemy unit.
Can units counter-charge over friendly units?
Follow the normal movement rules (see Other Units) with respect to this.
Can units disembark from a unit that has already counter-charged?
Yes, so long as the transport unit isn’t in base contact with two enemy units.
Can a unit that disembarked other units still counter-charge?
No, disembarking happens at the end of a move.
Can a formation that used its overwatch fire on the attacking formation still counter-charge?
Yes.
After counter charges are made does the engaging formation need to have at least one unit with a line of fire to a unit in the target formation in order for the assault to take place?
In the first round yes, as all the normal charge move rules apply. In subsequent rounds the assault is already taking place and its result must be determined.
What happens when an assault goes into a second round and no units are within 15cm of each other after both sides counter charge?
Work out the result again.

1.12.5 Resolve Attacks

Do cover to hit modifiers apply in an assault?
No.
Can a hit be allocated to a unit that does not have a line of fire to an enemy unit?
No, these hits are allocated in the same manner as shooting hits: they require a line of fire.
How are attacks with special abilities like ignore cover and lance allocated in an assault?
This was never covered in the rules. The unofficial consensus is that they should be allocated in such a way to utilize their special rules, if possible. I.e., ignore cover hits should be allocated to units that are benefiting from a cover save and lance hits should be allocated to units with reinforced armour. This is something you should bring up with your opponent in the five minute warm up.
Can a cover saves be used in an assault?
The defender can use them, but not the attacker.
Can the crossfire bonus be used in an assault?
No.
Does an attacking unit need to have a line of fire to a unit in the target formation in order to be considered directly engaged?
Yes.

1.12.6 Supporting Fire

Is supporting fire affected by suppression?
No.
What does directly involved mean here?
In order to support with their firefight a unit must have a line of fire to at least one enemy unit that attacked with its close combat or firefight during the assault.
Can hits from supporting fire carry over on to units that weren’t directly involved?
No.
How is directly involved evaluated in assaults that go on for multiple rounds?
Check and re-evaluate at the end of every round. In a three round assault a unit can go from directly involved, to not, and back again with counter-charges and units being removed.

1.12.7 Work Out Result

Are the extra hits the losing formation suffers only applied to units that were directly involved?
No, the are applied to any units in the losing formation.
Do the extra hits the losing formation suffers require a line of fire?
No.
Can the extra hits the losing formation suffers be allocated to units being transported in a fearless transport?
Yes.
How are the extra hits the losing formation suffers allocated to a formation with units being transported?
Once one of these hits is allocated to a transport (or it is skipped over because it is fearless) all units it is transporting must be allocated a hit (while any remain) before moving on to the next closest unit. Any remaining units that were being transported (fearless units, or those that weren’t allocated a hit) would then make their normal armour save or a 6+ cover save if the transport was destroyed, the formation would not receive a Blast marker for any of these saves if they failed.
Are units lost due to overwatch fire on the attacking formation counted when working out the result?
No.
Are units lost due to failed dangerous terrain tests counted when working out the result?
No, they are not kills you have inflicted.

1.12.9 Winner Consolidates

Can a transport unit pick up another unit as part of its consolidation move? What if the unit being picked up disembarked at the end of the charge move?
Yes and yes, but the unit being picked up may not make a consolidation move when this happens (see Transport Vehicles).
Do I have to use a consolidation move to move out of an enemy’s zone of control?
No. A consolidation move isn’t mandatory, it just can’t be used to enter another enemy unit’s zone of control.
Note that this can create the situation where a fearless unit does not withdraw and units from the winning side remain in base contact with it. When this happens the opposing formation will automatically be drawn in to an assault on either formation.

1.12.10 Intermingled Formations

If a formation is intermingled with a broken formation, can the extra hits from loosing the assault be taken on the broken formation?
Yes, so long as those units are closer to the attacking formation. Units are removed for those extra hits and then broken formations are destroyed.
Does the charging formation need to get within 15cm of all intermingled formations?
No.
Does the charging formation need to get within 15cm of the original target or can it get within 15cm of any intermingled formation?
Talk about it with your opponent during the five minute up, it’s played both ways around the world.

1.13.2 Becoming Broken

Does a broken unit have a zone of control?
Yes.

1.13.4 Blast Markers and Broken Formations

Do the units removed from the additional hits cause Blast markers.
No.

1.14 The End Phase

What is the order of events that happen in the End Phase?
If alternating, the player with the higher strategy rating chooses who will go first.
  1. Aircraft make disengagement moves (simultaneous)
  2. Resolve critical hit and other end of turn effects (alternate)
  3. Rally (alternate)
  4. Remove daemons (simultaneous)
  5. Check victory conditions (depends on scenario)

1.14.1 Rallying Formations

Can a broken formation activate in the turn after it failed to rally?
No, it can only attempt to rally in each End phase.
Can a broken formation that failed to rally make a withdrawal move in the End phase if it already made a withdrawal in the Action phase when it broke?
Yes.
Can formations that are off-board rally?
Yes, unless a special rule states otherwise, and they are not considered to be within 30cm of enemy units.

2.0 Specialist Units & Weapons

Some special abilities can apply to both units and weapons. Are there any differences?
Special abilities on a weapon apply to only to the datasheet line they are on (e.g. Banshee Masks grant first strike to Howling Banshees in close combat and Lictor Talons grant sniper to Lictors in close combat).
Special weapon abilities on the unit apply to all attacks where applicable (e.g. Warp Spiders have first strike so all their CC and FF attacks have it, as do any extra attacks added from characters), while special unit abilities on the unit do not (e.g. Eldar Rangers have sniper for their shooting attack while their CC and FF attacks do not).

2.1 Specialist Units

Can a unit have the same special ability more than once?
No. Duplicated abilities (from characters being added to the unit, for example) should be treated as occurring once.
Can units being transported use their special abilities?
Yes.
Can units that are off board use their special abilities.
No, but there are some exceptions. Special abilities that allow the formation to be placed on the table (teleport, tunneler, etc) may obviously be used. Also, any special abilities that affect the formation’s action or rally test (farsight, supreme commander, etc.) may be used, but only on the unit’s formation. Finally, leader and slow and steady may be used off-board.
Can units that are in a broken formation use their special abilities.
Yes.

2.1.2 Commanders

Can the commander ability be used if the unit with commander, or its whole formation, is not within 15cm of a unit from the target formation after the charge move?
Yes in both cases.
Which initiative value do I use if the following formations have a value different than the commander’s formation?
Use the initiative value of the activating formation.

2.1.3 Fearless

What happens when a broken fearless unit remains in base contact with an enemy unit after loosing assault?
Nothing special. If the enemy unit does not consolidate out of its zone of control then see Zones of Control. If the units remain in base contact then the opposing formation will automatically be drawn in to an assault on either formation.

2.1.4 Infiltrators

Can infiltrators double their counter-charge move?
No.
Can infiltrators double the distance they are placed from a unit when disembarking as part of a charge move?
No.
Can infiltrators move over enemy units?
No.

2.1.5 Inspiring

Are units from supporting formations considered to be involved in an assault?
No.

2.1.6 Invulnerable Saves

Can invulnerable saves be used by units destroyed by dangerous terrain?
No.
Can invulnerable saves be used by units destroyed by the extra hits from the result of an assault?
No.
Can invulnerable saves be used by units destroyed from ending their second withdrawal move within 15cm of the enemy?
No.
Can invulnerable saves be used by units destroyed from an additional hit from a Blast marker on a broken formation?
No.
How many invulnerable saves must a unit make if it is hit by a Titan Killer weapon that causes multiple points of damage?
One, unless it is a War Engine in which case it must make one invulnerable save for each point of damage.

2.1.9 Light Vehicles

Can light vehicles grant the -1 to hit modifier to infantry units touching them?
No.

2.1.11 Reinforced Armour

Can a unit with reinforced armour re-roll an invulnerable save against a non-macro-weapon hit?
No.
Can a unit with reinforced armour re-roll a cover save against a non-macro-weapon hit?
Yes, but only using its armour value.

2.1.12 Scouts

How do formations that contain scout and non-scout units form a chain to be a legal formation?
Every non-scout unit must be within 5cm of at least one other unit while scout units must be within 20cm of at least one other unit.
Are scouts intermingled if they are within 10cm of another formation?
No.
Can a charging unit move into base contact with an enemy unit that is completely within an un-intermingled enemy scout’s zone of control?
Yes, but only if the enemy unit is closer than the scout, In this instance you may enter the zone of control of a formation that is not the target of the assault.

2.1.13 Skimmers

Can a skimmer transport unit pick up a unit that is in terrain that is dangerous to the skimmer?
Yes, but if the unit being picked up was completely within the dangerous terrain then the skimmer would have to take a dangerous terrain test.
Can a skimmer transport unit pick up a unit that is in terrain that is impassable to the skimmer?
Yes, but only if the unit being picked up is not completely within the impassable terrain.
Does a skimmer that starts a move in dangerous terrain have to take a dangerous terrain test.
Yes.
Can a skimmer pop up as part of a hold action where it is shooting?
No. While it is not specifically stated in the rules you have to be able to move to pop up (overwatch being the only exception).
Can a skimmer pop up as part of a counter charge?
Yes, if the unit can move it can pop up.
If a skimmer chooses to use its firefight value in an assault when in base contact with an enemy unit are both units still considered to be in base-to-base contact?
Yes.
What happens if two skimmers are in base contact with each other?
If either player chooses to use their skimmer’s firefight value they both use their firefight value. Otherwise, they use their close combat value.
If a unit is in base contact with a skimmer that chooses to use its firefight value and another non-skimmer unit can it still use its close combat value?
Yes.
Can a war engine skimmer choose to use its firefight against units in base contact with it?
Yes.

2.1.14 Sniper

Can the sniper ability be used in an assault?
Only if it is on an assault weapons or small arms weapon.
What units may an attacker choose to hit with sniper hits in an assault?
Any enemy units within 15cm and in the line of fire of the unit, regardless if the hit was from an assault weapons or small arms weapon.
When are sniper hits allocated?
Before or after regular hits but before saving throws are made (and thus before macro-weapon hits are allocated).
Can a sniper hit be allocated to a unit that has already been allocated a regular hit?
Yes.

2.1.15 Supreme Commanders

Can an army have more than one supreme commander?
Yes, although the tournament army lists assume a maximum of one.
What is an initiative test?
An action or rally test.

2.1.17 Teleport

Can a formation that contains transport units with teleport and transported units without it still teleport in?
Yes, but any units that can’t be transported should be considered destroyed.
Can a unit with teleport and scout teleport onto the board and set up within 20cm from each other?
No, all units after the first need to be placed within 5cms of a unit that has already been placed.
How many D6 should a war engine unit roll when it teleports into play?
A number equal to its starting damage capacity.

2.1.20 Support Craft

Can a unit with jump packs be placed within 15cms when disembarked from a support craft?
No.

2.2.2 Disrupt

Does a disrupt hit inflict a Blast marker on an expendable unit?
No.
Does a disrupt hit inflict a Blast marker when it takes down a void shield or power field?
No.
A disrupt hit destroys a transport unit carrying other units. Do these units count as being hit by the disrupt hit?
No. Note that Blast markers should still be placed if the transported units are destroyed however.

2.2.3 Extra Attacks

How do special abilities apply to a weapon with extra attacks?
Special abilities (unit or weapon) that are on a weapon with extra attacks apply to, and only to, the extra attacks. All special weapon abilities (e.g. first strike) on the unit are also inherited by the extra attacks, but special unit abilities (e.g. sniper) on the unit are not.
If a unit has an extra attack on a Small Arms weapon, can it be used if the unit is in base contact with an enemy unit?
Only if the unit is a war engine, and that hit can only be allocated to units in firefight with the war engine.

2.2.4 First Strike

A unit in base contact uses a first strike extra attack and the enemy unit is removed. Can the unit still use its CC value for its regular attack?
Only if it was in base contact with another enemy unit, otherwise it would have to use its FF value.
How does first strike work with supporting fire?
First strike doesn’t provide a benefit in this situation, treat it like normal.

2.2.6 Macro-Weapons

A transport unit is destroyed but the units being transported survive and are placed in base contact with an AV, may Macro-weapon hits be allocated to them?
Yes.
If a unit in an assault with an macro-weapon attack is destroyed by a regular hit before macro-weapon hits are allocated is its macro-weapon attack disguarded?
No. All attacks in assault are simultaneous, macro-weapon hits are just allocated after regular attacks.

2.2.7 Single Shot

Can a single shot weapon that has fired count for suppression purposes?
Yes.

2.2.8 Slow Firing

If a slow firing weapon’s firepower is preceded by a multiplier do all of the shots have to be used?
No, shots can be saved and used during the following turn while the weapon is reloading.
Can a slow firing weapon that has fired all its shots count for suppression purposes on the turn it is reloading?
Yes.

2.2.10 Indirect Fire

Does a weapon firing indirectly ignore the -1 to hit modifier if the target is in cover.
If the target would receive the modifier just for being partially obscured then yes. If the target is in the cover then no, it would still benefit from the -1 to hit modifier.

3.1.1 War Engine Formations

How do formations that contain war engine and non-war engine units form a chain to be a legal formation?
Every non-war engine unit must be within 5cm of at least one other unit while war engine units must be within a distance equal to their starting damage capacity × 5cm of at least one other unit.

3.1.3 Transport War Engines

Can a war engine transport more than one formation?
Yes.
Can a formation of war engines split another formation of troops amongst them to transport?
No, a single war engine from a separate formation cannot transport part of another formation.
Are units trapped inside a war engine if it is in base contact with two enemy units?
No, only if it is in base contact with a number of enemy units equal to twice its starting damage capacity.

3.2.1 Allocating Hits To War Engines

How many units does a war engine in the target formation count as with regards to placing a barrage template?
A number equal to its starting damage capacity.
If a war engine is under multiple templates from the same barrage is it subject to more attacks than normal?
No.

3.2.3 Critical Hits

Does the hit here refer to hits that have been allocated to the war engine or to hits that have reduced the war engine’s damage capacity by 1 point?
Hits that have reduced the war engine’s damage capacity by 1 point.
If a critical hit’s effect causes additional hits do these have a chance of causing critical damage?
Yes.
If a critical hit’s effect is resolved in the end phase and this results in another critical hit is that resolved immediately?
No, it would be resolved in the next turn’s end phase.
If a critical hit’s effect destroys units in another formation does that formation receive a Blast marker for coming under fire?
No.
If a critical hit’s effect destroys units during an assault are those units counted for the purposes of working out the result of the assault?
If the units’ formation was part of the assault, yes.
Are critical hit effects cumulative?
Yes.

3.3 War Engine Assaults

Can a war engine transporting a broken formation assault?
Yes, but any broken formations being transported may not disembark and fight in the assault. If they are forced to disembark due to the war engine being destroyed then they are destroyed as well. Note that They do count as taking part in the assault, however, and affect the assault modifiers when working out the result.
Can a unit that disembarked from a war engine to fight in an assault use its consolidation move to get back into the war engine?
Yes, but the war engine may not make a consolidation move.

3.3.1 Charge Moves

Can a war engines barge units out of the way with a counter charge?
Yes.
Can a war engine barge one formation and assault another?
No, a unit can’t enter an enemy’s zone of control unless it is assaulting the unit’s formation.
Can a war engine barge a unit and then move away from other units to deny attacks?
Yes, but only if the war engine doesn’t enter the other units’ zone of control. A war engine is still required to move into base contact with an enemy unit if it enters its zone of control.

4.2 Aircraft

Can a formation on CAP choose to carry out an interception action in reaction to an enemy CAP interception?
No.
What is the order of events with regards to aircraft/anti-aircraft/flak attacks, CAP and landing?
  1. An aircraft formation activates and makes an approach move.
  2. If the action taken was a ground attack an enemy aircraft formation on CAP may choose to carry out an interception action against it. If this occurs then the enemy aircraft formation makes an approach move and all flak attacks (from the aircraft formation, any friendly aircraft formations that are within range at the end of the enemy’s approach move, and any friendly ground units with an AA value that were in range during the enemy’s approach move) are resolved against it. Before rolling any saving throws it may choose to jink.
  3. All anti-aircraft and flak attacks (from any enemy aircraft formations that are within range at the end of the aircraft’s approach move and any enemy ground units with an AA value that were in range during the aircraft’s approach move) are resolved against the aircraft formation. Before rolling any saving throws it may choose to jink if it doesn’t have the Bomber manoeuvre class.
  4. If the aircraft formation has a transport capacity and is carrying out a ground attack it may choose to land, at which point it becomes a ground unit. If any unit’s disembark they and the aircraft formation may be subject overwatch.
  5. The aircraft formation resolves its attacks or fights an assault if it decided to air assault.

4.2.2 Aircraft Attacks

Can an aircraft end its approach move in the middle of an enemy formation in order to ensure a specific target is allocated hits before other models?
No, if an aircraft ends its approach move in this manner then assume the fire is coming from the direction of the approach move.
Do aircraft that attack ground formations suffer to hit modifiers for cover?
Only if the target is in cover, if the target is obscured then no because aircraft ignore anything that might block line of sight.

4.2.3 Anti-Aircraft Attacks

Can weapons with an AA value be used to attack landed aircraft?
No.

4.2.4 Flak Attacks

Can units with weapons that don’t have an AA value be suppressed when making a flak attack?
Yes, and they only need to be within range as all ground units have a line of fire to flying aircraft.
Do to hit modifiers for a double, marshal or sustain action apply to flak attacks?
No, the only modifier that does is the -1 to hit during the end phase if the unit’s formation carried out any action that involved a move.
An aircraft makes its approach move and suffers flak attacks from one unit in a formation. As it makes its disengagement move it comes into range of an other unit from the same formation, may this unit flak attack the aircraft?
Yes, each unit may only shoot at an aircraft once per turn.

4.2.5 Transporting Ground Units

Can aircraft without a transport capacity land?
No.
If a landed aircraft is destroyed while carry ground units, are they lost with it?
No, resolve this as per Transport Vehicles.
Can units that have a special ability that allows them to enter play use it if a aircraft transports them off board?
No, they may only enter play again via disembarking from the landed aircraft.
Can a transport aircraft jink and still carry out an air assault.
Yes, so long as it doesn’t have the Bomber manoeuvre class.
Is it possible to air assault into a formation which is completely covered by the zone of control of another formation?
You can play it either way, just bring it up in the five minute warm up.
Is a fearless aircraft that looses an assault automatically destroyed?
No.
Can a unit that disembarked from an aircraft as part of an air assault use its consolidation move to get back into the aircraft?
Yes, but the aircraft may not make a disengagement move.

4.2.6 Disengagement Moves

If an aircraft has traveled more than 30cm during its approach move and didn’t end it with a turn can it turn immediately when it makes a disengagement move?
No, it still must move at least another 30cm before it is allowed to turn.
What happens when a landed aircraft does not make a disengagement move?
It rallies in the end phase like a ground formation and has the potential to activate like a ground formation next turn.

4.2.7 Blast Markers

Do aircraft get a Blast marker for failing an activation?
No.

4.3.1 Planning Spacecraft Operations

Do all units with planetfall have to have the same drop zone?
No, you just need one drop zone for each formation entering play via planetfall.

4.3.2 Carrying Out The Operation

What is the order of events with regards to a spacecraft’s operation.
  1. The spacecraft resolves all of its orbital bombardment and pin-point attacks, assuming an action test is passed.
  2. Each formation entering play via planetfall is resolved (placing and then scattering it, and then resolving any special abilities like those on a Space Marine Drop Pod). These can be in any order the player controlling the spacecraft desires.
  3. Check to see if any formations that were subject to orbital bombardment, pin-point attacks or special abilities are broken.

4.3.3 Orbital Bombardments

Do all formations that are under an orbital bombardment template receive a Blast marker for coming under fire?
Yes.
Are there any restrictions for placing extra orbital bombardment templates?
No.

4.3.4 Pin-Point Attacks

If a spacecraft has multiple pin-point attacks and uses them to attack separate formations do they each get a Blast marker for coming under fire?
Yes.

4.4 Planetfall

Can flak attacks be made against an aircraft enter play via planetfall?
No.

5.1.1 They Shall Know No Fear

How many Blast markers does a broken Space Marine unit count as having when working out the result of an assault?
One per unit.

5.2 Imperial Guard Forces

If an Imperial Guard formation has Blast markers how many units of Infantry can shoot their autocannon?
Count up the number of units of Infantry that are not supressed and divide this number by two, rounding up.

5.4.1 Imperial Void Shields

Do void shields stop a point of damage caused by: a failed dangerous terrain test, the extra hits from the result of an assault, a Blast marker on a broken formation, or the unit ending its second withdrawal move within 15cm of the enemy?
No.
How many void shields go down if a war engine is hit by a Titan Killer weapon that causes multiple points of damage?
One per each point of damage, with any left over being allocated to the unit.
Can a formation regroup to repair downed void shields if it has no Blast markers?
Yes.
If a formation with multiple units with void shields regroups is the number of repaired void shields the same for each unit or shared between them?
Shared between them, e.g. if you chose to repair two void shields, one unit could repair two void shields or two units could repair one void shield each.
Are void shields considered when determining how many hits a war engine should be allocated?
No.

5.6.2 Hit & Run Tactics

In an Eldar formation takes a double action and moves, shoots and moves again can transported infantry disembark after the first one, shoot, and then be picked up as part of the second move?
Yes, so long as their transport is not popping up.
If units from an Eldar formation are in an enemy’s zone of control and take an advance or double action can they shoot first and then move?
Yes.

5.6.3 Eldar Technology

Is a Holofield affected by save modifiers (i.e. hits from sniper and crossfire)?
Yes.
Can a formation enter play via a Webway Portal that is covered by, or is in the zone of control of, enemy units?
Yes, but the formation using it to enter play would have to carry out an engage action.
What happens when a formation in reserve fails its action test and needs to enter play via a Webway Portal that is covered by, or is in the zone of control of, enemy units?
It takes a Blast marker, and may not take a hold action. It effectively looses its activation.

5.7.1 Fortified Positions

What is a fortified positions?
They are not units. They are terrain that is placed by the player.
Do fortified positions block a line of fire?
No.
Do fortified positions work against fire from all directions?
Yes.
Do units entering or starting their move in their own fortified position have to take a dangerous terrain test?
If it is dangerous to their unit type, yes.
How wide is razor wire and a trench?
They are assumed to be under 5cm wide, crossible in one move when a unit is moving cautiously.

5.13 Dark Eldar Forces

Do Wyches and Warp Beasts count as having an armor value of 5+ when they are subject to overwatch fire when making a charge move?
No.

5.15.1 Necron Technology

Can the leader special ability be used to return a destroyed Necron unit instead of removing an additional Blast marker?
Yes, but only when regrouping.
Can a Necron formation in reserve carry out a marshal action, move to enter play and regenerate destroyed units by regrouping?
Yes.
Can a Necron formation carry out a marshal action, move through a portal into reserve and regenerate destroyed units by regrouping?
No.
Can a portal be used if its formation is broken?
Yes.
Can a formation enter play via a portal that is covered by, or is in the zone of control of, enemy units?
Yes, but the formation using it to enter play would have to carry out an engage action.
What happens when a formation in reserve fails its action test and needs to enter play via a portal that is covered by, or is in the zone of control of, enemy units?
It takes a Blast marker, and may not take a hold action. It effectively looses its activation.

6.1.3 The Five Minute Warm Up

Is there a complete list of what to cover in the five minute warm up?
  • Should you dice for each ability used at the start of the turn?
  • Are transported units considered to be in specific transporting units of their formation?
  • When disembarking, are transported units placed completely within 5cm of the transport unit or just so one part of the transported unit is within 5cm of the transport unit?
  • When does a unit count as being in cover?
  • How many units can claim cover from a armoured vehicle, war engine, or terrain feature?
  • Does the charging formation need to get within 15cm of the original target or can it get within 15cm of any intermingled formation?
  • How are attacks with special abilities like ignore cover and lance allocated in an assault?
  • Is it possible to air assault into a formation which is completely covered by the zone of control of another formation?
  • Where should measurements for capturing/contesting an objective be made from?
  • What house rules do you normally play with?
  • Are you using the counts as rule?
  • What is your army capable of (units, weapons and special rules)?

6.1.4 Place Objective Markers

Can the player with the higher strategy rating choose to make their opponent place first?
No.
How big can objective markers be?
As big as you like, just remember that they’re a marker and as such don’t count as terrain or block a line of fire.
Where should measurements for capturing/contesting an objective be made from?
This should be brought up during five minute warp up. For objectives placed on a table edge, most groups measure to the center of the area that touches the table edge, while all other objectives are measured from their center or a designated point.

6.1.5 Setup Spacecraft & Garrisons

Can the player with the higher strategy rating choose to make their opponent set up a garrison first?
No.
Can War Engines garrison?
Only if they are in a formation that includes units with a speed of 0cm or immobile, or if they are in a formation where half or more of the units (rounding up) are scouts.
Can a transport aircraft garrison?
No, they must be kept in reserve.

6.1.6 Set-up Remaining Formations

Are formations being kept in reserve declared at the same time as other formations are being set up within 15cm of their own side’s table edge?
No, players declare which formations are going to be kept in reserve first, then take it in turn to set up the remaining formations one at a time, starting with the player with the higher strategy rating.
Can the player with the higher strategy rating choose to make their opponent set up a formation first?
No.
When is it decided how formations in reserve will enter play?
The means by which a formation will be entering play must be declared when they are declared to be in reserve.
Can formations that aren’t aircraft or entering play via transport aircraft or teleportration be kept in reserve?
Yes, but only if they can enter play via some other special ability (tunneler, self planetfall, etc.).
Can a formation in reserve activate?
Yes, and it must enter play.
Is a formation in reserve ever limited in what actions it can carry out?
Yes, it must carry out an action that will allow it to enter play. Sometimes it might be limited to carrying out an engage action (e.g. Eldar in reserve with a Webway Portal in an enemy unit’s zone of control).
Must a formation in reserve activate?
No, but you may only choose to pass on activating a formation if all the unactivated formations for the turn are in reserve.
Can a formation in reserve with no means to enter play choose to pass (e.g. Necrons in reserve with no portal left to use)?
No.
What happens when a formation in reserve fails its action test?
If must move as part of a hold action to enter play.
What happens when a formation in reserve fails its action test but can’t enter play (e.g. Eldar in reserve and Webway Portal in an enemy unit’s zone of control)?
It takes a Blast marker, and may not take a hold action. It effectively looses its activation.

6.1.7 Victory Conditions

Do formations that are off board (spacecraft) or in reserve count towards the Break Their Spirit goal?
No. However, a formation that enters play and is destroyed (e.g. an aircraft) would count towards the goal.
Does a whole formation have to be on the opponent’s half of the table to deny the They Shall Not Pass goal? A whole unit?
One part of a single unit on the opponent’s half of the table is all that it takes to deny them the They Shall Not Pass goal.
If a formation rallies in the end phase can it deny the opponent the They Shall Not Pass goal?
Yes.

6.3.1 Space Marine Transports

If a formation comes with Rhinos, and can also take Land Raiders and Razorbacks via upgrades, how do you determine how many Rhinos the formation receives?
Add any Land Raiders to a formation first. Next, add any number of Razorbacks to the formation, up to the number required to transport those units not being transported in Land Raiders. Finally, the formation receives Rhinos to transport those units not being transported in Land Raiders or Razorbacks.

6.5.1 Ork Warlords

Can an Ork Warlord join any unit if there are no Great Gargants, Nobz or Gargant units in the army?
Yes.

6.6 Eldar Biel-Tan Craftworld Army List

Can an Avatar be placed within 15cm of a Webway Portal if a Farseer is in reserve and will enter through it?
No.

6.7 Baran Siegemasters Imperial Guard Army List

If a Sapper Platoon is split up and added to one or more companies is the Break Their Spirit goal or tiebreak affected?
Yes, each unit of Sappers adds +30 points to the company it is added to.

6.7.2 Fortified Positions

Do all Fortified Positions purchased need to be set up?
No.
Are Fortified Positions counted during tiebreak?
No.
Are the Gun Emplacements that come with certain formation set up at the same time as Fortified Positions?
No, these are setup with the formation they are part of.
Are the Gun Emplacements that come with certain formation units in the formation?
No, they just need to be set up in coherency with the rest of the formation.

6.11.3 Summoned Units

Does the action that a formation will carry out need to be declared before daemonic units are summoned?
Yes.

6.13.3 Kashnarak

Does the Kashnarak need to pass an action test?
Yes, it has an initiative rating of 2+.
What happens if the Kashnarak fails an action test?
It carries out a hold action and moves as described.
Does the Kashnarak avoid dangerous terrain?
Only if its move is being directed by a Dark Eldar player.
Does the Kashnarak avoid impassable terrain?
Yes, it takes the shortest path around any impassable terrain. If there are multiple shortests paths around the terrain then the player whose formation it is moving towards may choose which path it takes.
Does the Kashnarak avoid overwatch fire?
Only if its move is being directed by a Dark Eldar player.
Can the Kashnarak declare formations as being intermingled?
Only if its move is being directed by a Dark Eldar player. Otherwise, the formations are only considered intermingled if the Kashnarak moves into base contact with each of them.
Can a Wych unit that is part of a broken formation direct the Kashnarak?
Yes.

6.16.1 Fortifications

Do all fortifications purchased need to be set up?
No.
Are fortifications counted during tiebreak?
No.